Valentine’s Day Door Decoration Tutorial

Remember this box?

Well, after I made the shelf, there was still a whole panel of it left. So I made this:

Here’s how:

Valentine’s Day Door Decoration

Supplies:

-Cardboard
-Box cutter or Xacto knife
-Paint: Red & White
– Hot Glue
-Yarn
-Paper
-Scissors

How to:

1. Make a Heart Stencil
You remember this one ladies from Kindergarten. Fold a piece of paper in half. Draw half a heart outline.

Cut it and Voila!

You’ve got a stencil. Cut it to a size you think will fit your door and handwriting.

2. Trace your stencil.

Since I spelled “Welcome,” I needed seven hearts. But you could write other things, if you’d like.


3. Cut your stencil.

Using the box cutter. You also might want to use a cutting mat, unless you want your table to look like mine.

4. Paint your hearts.
I used acrylic paint. It took about three coats. Wait for them to dry between each coat.

5. Paint out your letters.
It occurred to me a stencil would be a good choice here, but I freehanded it. After I painted them, I outlined them with a sharpie to make things look neater.

6. Line up the letters to form your word.
Line them up exactly how you’d like to see them hanging.

7. Hot glue them together.

8. Add string.
Measure out the length you want your decoration to hang.

Turn your sign over and use the hot glue gun to fasten the string to your cardboard.

Really pour the glue on and make sure it’s completely covered.

Cut any extra string that may be visible.

Be sure that the glue is completely dry before hanging. And you’re done!

About heidi

a twenty-something young professional who enjoys crafting, cooking, sewing, and re-purposing old things.
This entry was posted in crafts, d.i.y., I Made This and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Valentine’s Day Door Decoration Tutorial

  1. Jessica says:

    Super cute! Love it!

Leave a comment